Operational Hours / Staff Directory

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.
 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

To Schedule an Inspection:

 

1. Call the Inspection Request Line at (949) 644-3255 or;
2. Click here to schedule an Inspection online

3. For iPermits ONLY, please log onto your online account at www.newportbeachca.gov/onlinepermitting

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal:
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Residential Building
Inspector hours:
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Alternating Fridays
Inspection hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspectors available: 7:30 AM to 8:00 AM and 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Saturday
No Construction Work on Sundays or Federal Holidays

  

ENGINEERS COUNTER SCHEDULE   

           

October 9 - 13

ENGINEER

MON
10-9

TUE
10-10

WED
10--11

THURS
10-12

FRI
10-13

Melissa Kubischta  lbu Counter AM n/a lbu Counter PM
Eric Skarin APC
APC
APC

APC

lbu
Soon Cho

Counter PM

n/a

lbu

Counter PM
n/a
Stefan Chiose
Counter AM lbu lbu
n/a lbu
Tonee Thai
lbu
counter PM lbu
n/a
Yousef Barar n/a  n/a Counter AM  Counter AM  counter AM
Ali Naji n/a n/a n/a
n/a
n/a
Kenneth Huang
lbu

Counter PM

  lbu
Ben Ellingson. (EMP) * 8-12

8-12

8-12

8-12

Counter PM

Sergio Gutierrez (CEG) **

7:30-12
1-3 **
7:30-12
1-3 **
7:30-12
1-3 **

7:30-12
1-3 **

n/a
Susan Guzzetta (FIRE) n/a 8-4:30 n/a 8-4:30 1-3:30
Todd Letterman (FIRE) 8-4:30 n/a 8-4:30 n/a 8-12

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      MJ, LBU = for Internal Use Only
     *EMP = Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner
   **CEG (Certified Engineer Geologist) Available 1-3 pm by appointment (Mon - Thurs)

October 2 - 6

ENGINEER

MON
10-2

TUE
10-3

WED
10-4

THURS
10-5

FRI
10-6

        Engineers
Meeting 4-5 pm 
 
Melissa Kubischta  Counter PM LBU LBU Counter PM LBU
Eric Skarin APC
APC
APC
APC n/a
Soon Cho

LBU

LBU

Counter PM

MJ MJ
Stefan Chiose
LBU Counter PM
n/a LBU
Tonee Thai
MJ
n/a lbu  lbu Counter PM
Yousef Barar n/a  n/a n/a n/a n/a
Ali Naji Counter AM  Counter AM Counter AM Counter AM Counter AM
Kenneth Huang
n/a

MJ

MJ

LBU

n/a

Ben Ellingson. (EMP)*  8-12

8-12

8-12

8-12

n/a

Sergio Gutierrez (CEG) **

n/a
7:30-12
1-3**
7:30-12
1-3**
7:30-12
1-3**
n/a
Susan Guzzetta (FIRE) n/a 8-4:30 n/a 8-4:30 n/a
Todd Letterman (FIRE) 8-4:30 n/a 8-4:30 n/a 8-12

 

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      MJ, LBU = for Internal Use Only
     *EMP = Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner
   **CEG (Certified Engineer Geologist) Available 1-3 pm by appointment (Mon - Thurs)

Community Development Staff Phone E-mail
Seimone Jurjis, Community Development Director 949-644-3200 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov

 

 

ADMINISTRATION Phone E-mail
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Jennifer Biddle, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3232 jbiddle@newportbeachca.gov
Ruby Garciamay, Administrative Technician 949-644-3201 rgarciamay@newportbeachca.gov
Lanny Krage, Records Specialist 949-644-3293 lkrage@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Achis, Administrative Technician 949-718-1865 pachis@newportbeachca.gov
Terresa Moritz, Management Analyst 949 644-3239 tmoritz@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Administrative Technician 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov
Christine Fugate, Student Aide 949-644-3200 cfugate@newportbeachca.gov
Alyssa Murakami, Student Aide 949-644-3200 amurakami@newportbeachca.gov 
Sandy Solis, Student Aide 949-644-3200  ssolis@newportbeachca.gov 
Sean Vo, Student Aide 949-644-3200  svo@newportbeachca.gov
Marlise Chel, Student Aide 949-644-3200 mchel@newportbeachca.gov 

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone E-mail
Susan McCourt, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3289 smccourt@newportbeachca.gov
Vacant, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3290  
Jana Egan, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3216 jegan@newportbeachca.gov
Cara Eng, Permit Specialist II 949 644-3251 ceng@newportbeachca.gov
Jamie Harris, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3274 jharris@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki, Residential Building Records Inspector 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Savana Melo, Permit Technician (Contract)
949-644-3269 smelo@newportbeachca.gov
Jessica Sanchez, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3287 jsanchez@newportbeachca.gov

 

   

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone E-mail

Samir Ghosn, P.E., Principal Engineer/Plan Check

949-644-3277 sghosn@newportbeachca.gov
Yousef Barar, P.E., Contract Civil Engineer  949-644-3265  ybarar@newportbeachca.gov
Stefan Chiose, P.E., Civil Engineer
949-644-3207 schiose@newportbeachca.gov

Soon Cho, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3281 scho@newportbeachca.gov

Ben Ellingson, Plans Examiner, Elect., Mech., Plumbing 

949-644-3271 bellingson@newportbeachca.gov
Sergio Gutierrez, P.G., C.E.G., Certified Engineer Geologist (Contract) 949-644-3213 sgutierrez@newportbeachca.gov
Ken Huang, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 949-644-3285 khuang@newportbeachca.gov

Dan Kennedy, Architect, Principal Engineer/Customer Service (Acting Building Official)

949-644-3279 dkennedy@newportbeachca.gov
Melissa Kubischta, S.E., Civil Engineer  949-644-3278  mkubischta@newportbeachca.gov
Ali Naji, P.E., Contract Civil Engineer 949-644-3265  anaji@newportbeachca.gov

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov

Tonee Thai, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov

 

  

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone E-mail
John Burckle, Building Inspector Supervisor 949-644-3262 jburckle@newportbeachca.gov
Steve LaneBuilding Inspector 949-644-3264 slane@newportbeachca.gov
Rick La Bare, Building Inspector II 949 644-3261 rlabare@newportbeachca.gov
Randy Neilson, Building Inspector   949 644-3260 rneilson@newportbeachca.gov
Chris Sanchez, Sr. Building Inspector  949 644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Paul Sobek, Building Inspector Supervisor 949 644-3268

psobek@newportbeachca.gov

Marshall Shelton, Building Inspector II 949 644-3267 mshelton@newportbeachca.gov
Don Taylor, Sr. Building Inspector 949 644-3263 dtaylor@newportbeachca.gov 
Cody Swetnam, Building Inspector (Contract) 949 644-3272  cswetnam@newportbeachca.gov 
Bill Tuman, Building Inspector (Contract) 949 644-3295 Wtuman@newportbeachca.gov

  

Life Safety Services Phone E-mail
Susan Guzzetta, Life Safety Specialist III 949-644-3107 sguzzetta@newportbeachca.gov
Steve MichaelLife Safety Specialist II 949-644-3108 smichael@newportbeachca.gov
Nadine Morris, Life Safety Specialist II 949 644-3105 nmorris@newportbeachca.gov
Raymi Wun, Life Safety Specialist II 949 644-3110 rwun@newportbeachca.gov
Todd Letterman, Life Safety Plan Reviewer (Contract)  949 644-3354 tletterman@newportbeachca.gov

CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL

Matt Cosylion, Code Enforcement Supervisor

949-644-3217 mcosylion@newportbeachca.gov 

Brian Contino, Code Enforcement Officer II

949-644-3257 bcontino@newportbeachca.gov
John Murray, Code Enforcement Officer II 949-270-8137 jmurray@newportbeachca.gov
Jonathan Munoz, Code Enforcement Trainee 949-644-3220  jmunoz@newportbeachca.gov
 Michael Querry, Code Enforcement Trainee - PT 949-644-3286  mquerry@newportbeachca.gov

 

Planning Phone E-mail
Vacant, Deputy Director, Community Development 949-644-3297  
Patrick Alford, Planning Program Manager 949-644-3235 palford@newportbeachca.gov
James Campbell,  Principal Planner 949-644-3210  jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Murillo, Senior Planner 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
Gregg Ramirez, Senior Planner 949-644-3219 gramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Makana Nova, Associate Planner 949-644-3249 mnova@newportbeachca.gov
Rosalinh Ung, Associate Planner 949-644-3208 rung@newportbeachca.gov
Ben Zdeba, Associate Planner  949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov
Chelsea Crager, Assistant Planner 949-644-3227 ccrager@newportbeachca.gov 
Liz Westmoreland, Assistant Planner 949-644-3234  lwestmoreland@newportbeachca.gov
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner 949-644-3221 mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov  
David Lee, Planning Technician 949-644-3225 dlee@newportbeachca.gov
 Liane Schuller, Contract Planner 949-644-3237  lschuller@newportbeachca.gov

 

  

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Whitlinger, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov 
Melissa GordonReal Property Assistant (Contract)  949-644-3206 mgordon@newportbeachca.gov