Operational Hours / Staff Directory

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.
 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

To Schedule an Inspection:

 

1. Call the Inspection Request Line at (949) 644-3255 or;
2. Click here to schedule an Inspection online

3. For iPermits ONLY, please log onto your online account at www.newportbeachca.gov/onlinepermitting

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal:
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Residential Building
Inspector hours:
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Alternating Fridays
Inspection hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspectors available: 7:30 AM to 8:00 AM and 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Saturday
No Construction Work on Sundays or Federal Holidays

 

  

ENGINEERS COUNTER SCHEDULE   

           
ENGINEER MON
DEC 18
 TUES
DEC 19
 WED
DEC 20
 THURS
DEC 21
FRI
DEC 22
Eric Skarin APC APC APC n/a n/a
Kenneth Huang lbu Counter AM Counter PM lbu mj/lbu
Melissa Kubischta Counter AM lbu  n/a mj Counter PM
Soon Cho
n/a Counter PM lbu
lbu n/a
Stefan Chiose
Counter PM lbu
Counter AM n/a
lbu
Tonee Thai lbu pc lbu Counter PM n/a
Yousef Barar n/a n/a n/a
n/a
n/a
Ali Naji
n/a n/a n/a Counter AM Counter AM
Sergio Gutierrez (CEG)** 7:30-12
1-3**
 7:30-12
1-3**
 7:30-12
1-3**
7:30-12
1-3**
n/a
Ben Ellingson (EMP)* 8-12
8-12
8-12
8-12
n/a
Susan Guzzetta (FIRE) 8-4:30 8-4:30 n/a n/a 1-3:30
Todd Letterman (FIRE) n/a n/a 8-4:30 8-4:30 8-12

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      MJ, LBU = for Internal Use Only
     *EMP = Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner
   **CEG (Certified Engineer Geologist) Available 1-3 pm by appointment (Mon - Thurs)

ENGINEER MON
DEC 11
TUES
DEC 12
 WED
DEC 13
THURS
DEC 14
FRI
DEC 15
        Engineers
Mtg 4-5 pm 
 
Eric Skarin APC APC APC APC n/a
Kenneth Huang Counter AM
Counter PM
mj
lbu lbu
Melissa Kubischta n/a lbu n/a Counter PM mj
Soon Cho
lbu lbu
Counter PM lbu mj
Stefan Chiose
Counter PM
n/a lbu n/a lbu
Tonee Thai lbu Counter AM lbu n/a Counter PM
Yousef Barar n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a
Ali Naji
n/a n/a Counter AM Counter AM Counter AM
Ben Ellingson. (EMP)* 8-12  8-12 8-12   8-12 n/a

Sergio Gutierrez (CEG) **

7:30-12
1-3**
7:30-12
1-3**
7:30-12
1-3**
7:30-12
1-3**
n/a
Susan Guzzetta (FIRE) n/a 8-4:30 8-4:30 n/a n/a
Todd Letterman (FIRE) 8-4:30 n/a n/a 8-4:30 8-12

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      MJ, LBU = for Internal Use Only
     *EMP = Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner
   **CEG (Certified Engineer Geologist) Available 1-3 pm by appointment (Mon - Thurs)

Community Development Staff Phone E-mail
Seimone Jurjis, Community Development Director 949-644-3200 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov

 

 

ADMINISTRATION Phone E-mail
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Brittany Ramirez, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3232 bramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Ruby Garciamay, Administrative Technician 949-644-3201 rgarciamay@newportbeachca.gov
Lanny Krage, Records Specialist 949-644-3293 lkrage@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Achis, Administrative Technician 949-718-1865 pachis@newportbeachca.gov
Terresa Moritz, Management Analyst 949 644-3239 tmoritz@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Administrative Technician 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov
Ayla Gueron, Student Aide  949-644-3200 agueron@newportbeachca.gov
Sandy Solis, Student Aide 949-644-3200  ssolis@newportbeachca.gov 
Sean Vo, Student Aide 949-644-3200  svo@newportbeachca.gov
Marlise Chel, Student Aide 949-644-3200 mchel@newportbeachca.gov 

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone E-mail
Susan McCourt, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3289 smccourt@newportbeachca.gov
Vacant, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3290  
Jana Egan, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3216 jegan@newportbeachca.gov
Cara Eng, Permit Specialist II 949 644-3251 ceng@newportbeachca.gov
Jamie Harris, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3274 jharris@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki, Residential Building Records Inspector 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Savana Melo, Permit Technician (Contract)
949-644-3269 smelo@newportbeachca.gov
Jessica Sanchez, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3287 jsanchez@newportbeachca.gov

 

   

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone E-mail

Samir Ghosn, P.E., Deputy Community Development Director / Chief Building Official

949-644-3277 sghosn@newportbeachca.gov
Yousef Barar, P.E., Contract Civil Engineer  949-644-3265  ybarar@newportbeachca.gov
Stefan Chiose, P.E., Civil Engineer
949-644-3207 schiose@newportbeachca.gov

Soon Cho, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3281 scho@newportbeachca.gov

Ben Ellingson, Plans Examiner, Elect., Mech., Plumbing 

949-644-3271 bellingson@newportbeachca.gov
Sergio Gutierrez, P.G., C.E.G., Certified Engineer Geologist (Contract) 949-644-3213 sgutierrez@newportbeachca.gov
Ken Huang, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 949-644-3285 khuang@newportbeachca.gov

Dan Kennedy, Architect, Principal Engineer/Customer Service

949-644-3279 dkennedy@newportbeachca.gov
Melissa Kubischta, S.E., Civil Engineer  949-644-3278  mkubischta@newportbeachca.gov
Ali Naji, P.E., Contract Civil Engineer 949-644-3265  anaji@newportbeachca.gov

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov

Tonee Thai, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov

 

 

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone E-mail
John Burckle, Building Inspector Supervisor 949-644-3262 jburckle@newportbeachca.gov
Steve LaneBuilding Inspector 949-644-3264 slane@newportbeachca.gov
Rick La Bare, Building Inspector II 949 644-3261 rlabare@newportbeachca.gov
Randy Neilson, Building Inspector   949 644-3260 rneilson@newportbeachca.gov
David Reed, Building Inspector (Contract)  949 644-3252 dreed@newportbeachca.gov 
Chris Sanchez, Sr. Building Inspector  949 644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Paul Sobek, Building Inspector Supervisor 949 644-3268

psobek@newportbeachca.gov

Marshall Shelton, Building Inspector II 949 644-3267 mshelton@newportbeachca.gov
Don Taylor, Sr. Building Inspector 949 644-3263 dtaylor@newportbeachca.gov 

  

Life Safety Services Phone E-mail
Susan Guzzetta, Life Safety Specialist III 949-644-3107 sguzzetta@newportbeachca.gov
Steve MichaelLife Safety Specialist II 949-644-3108 smichael@newportbeachca.gov
Nadine Morris, Life Safety Specialist II 949 644-3105 nmorris@newportbeachca.gov
Raymi Wun, Life Safety Specialist II 949 644-3110 rwun@newportbeachca.gov
Todd Letterman, Life Safety Plan Reviewer (Contract)  949 644-3354 tletterman@newportbeachca.gov

CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL

Matt Cosylion, Code Enforcement Supervisor

949-644-3217 mcosylion@newportbeachca.gov 

Brian Contino, Code Enforcement Officer II

949-644-3257 bcontino@newportbeachca.gov
John Murray, Code Enforcement Officer II 949-270-8137 jmurray@newportbeachca.gov
Jonathan Munoz, Code Enforcement Trainee 949-644-3220 jmunoz@newportbeachca.gov
Michael Querry, Code Enforcement Trainee - PT 949-644-3286 mquerry@newportbeachca.gov

 

Planning Phone E-mail
James Campbell, Deputy Director, Community Development 949-644-3210  jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Alford, Planning Program Manager 949-644-3235 palford@newportbeachca.gov
Gregg Ramirez,  Principal Planner 949-644-3219 gramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Murillo, Senior Planner 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
Vacant, Senior Planner
Makana Nova, Associate Planner 949-644-3249 mnova@newportbeachca.gov
Rosalinh Ung, Associate Planner 949-644-3208 rung@newportbeachca.gov
Ben Zdeba, Associate Planner  949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov
Chelsea Crager, Assistant Planner 949-644-3227 ccrager@newportbeachca.gov 
Liz Westmoreland, Assistant Planner 949-644-3234  lwestmoreland@newportbeachca.gov
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner 949-644-3221 mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov  
David Lee, Planning Technician 949-644-3225 dlee@newportbeachca.gov
Liane Schuller, Contract Planner 949-644-3237  lschuller@newportbeachca.gov

 

 

  

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Whitlinger, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov 
Melissa GordonReal Property Assistant (Contract)  949-644-3206 mgordon@newportbeachca.gov