Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The City of Newport Beach was incorporated September 1, 1906 and the current City Charter was adopted in 1954. The City operates under a Council-Manager form of government. Its seven City Council Members are elected by district, but are voted on by the population as a whole. They serve four-year terms. The Council consists of the Mayor and six other members and is responsible for policy-making, passing local ordinances, adopting the budget, appointing committees and hiring the City Manager, City Attorney and City Clerk.

Every even-numbered year, either three or four members residing in separate council districts are elected by the entire community. Annually, the Council chooses one of its members as Mayor and one as Mayor Pro Tem. The Mayor is the presiding officer of the City Council.

Various Boards, Commissions and Committees advise and assist the City Council and City staff.  These groups are composed of volunteer citizens appointed by the City Council. 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer