Operational Hours / Staff Directory

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Print

The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.

 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

To Schedule an Inspection:

 

2. Click here to schedule an Inspection online

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal:
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Residential Building
Inspector hours:
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Alternating Fridays
Inspection Field Hours: 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspector Office Hours: 7:30 AM to 8:00 AM and 2:30 PM to 3:30 PM 
(Inspectors are available for questions during these times only)
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Saturday
No Construction Work on Sundays or Federal Holidays

    

ENGINEERS COUNTER SCHEDULE   

               
ENGINEER  MON
JUN 24
TUES
JUN 25
WED
JUN 26
THURS
JUN 27
FRI
JUN 28
       
 
Eric Skarin AM AM B/U PC AM OFF
Dustin Horney PM PC AM AM B/U OFF
Zhao Zhang  PM B/U PM  PM B/U PC OFF
Ting Wei AM B/U AM AM B/U PC AM 
Sevan Bejanian OFF PC PM PM B/U AM B/U
Alex Liu OFF PM B/U PC PM PM
Kenneth Huang OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF
Dan Aquino         OFF
Melissa Kubischta OFF        
Oliver Daluz 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30

OFF

Sergio Gutierrez 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30  7:30-12:30 OFF
Fire Prevention
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM


7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM


7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
N/A

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      PC = back office plan check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      LBU = Counter coverage during lunch & back-up
      AM engineer lunch is 12:30-1:30, & PM engineer lunch is 11:30-12:30
     *EMP (Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner)

       

ENGINEER MON
JUN 17
TUES
JUN 18
WED
JUN 19
THURS
JUN 20
FRI
JUN 21
           
Eric Skarin AM B/U PC AM B/U AM OFF
Dustin Horney AM PC PM B/U AM B/U OFF
Zhao Zhang PM PM PC PM B/U OFF
Ting Wei  PM B/U AM PC PC AM B/U   
Sevan Bejanian  RDO AM B/U AM PC PM  
Alex Liu
OFF PM B/U PC PM AM
Kenneth Huang OFF Work off-site PM PC PM B/U
Oliver Daluz (EMP)* 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 OFF

Sergio Gutierrez (CEG)*

7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 OFF
Dan Aquino

    OFF 
Melissa Kubischta  OFF          
Fire Prevention     7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
N/A 

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      PC = Back office plan check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      LBU = Counter coverage during lunch & back-up
      AM Engineer lunch is 12:30-1:30, & PM engineer lunch is 11:30-12:30
           

Community Development Staff Phone E-mail
Seimone Jurjis, Assistant City Manager / Community Development Director 949-644-3200 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov
   

    

ADMINISTRATION Phone E-mail
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Clarivel Rodriguez, Administrative Assistant 949-644-3232 crodriguez@newportbeachca.gov
Jasmine Leon, Department Assistant 949-644-3201 jleon@newportbeachca.gov
Amanda Lee, Records Specialist 949-718-1865 alee@newportbeachca.gov
Savannah Martinez, Department Assistant 949 644-3293  smartinez@newportbeachca.gov 
Brittany Ramirez, Management Analyst 949-644-3239 bramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Administrative Assistant 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Department Assistant 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov
Hannah Cho, Intern 949-644-3200  hcho@newportbeachca.gov 
William Combs, intern  949 644-3200  wcombs@newportbeachca.gov
Luca CosenzaIntern 949-644-3200 lcosenza@newportbeachca.gov
Skylar Wilk, Intern  949-644-3200  swilk@newportbeachca.gov 

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone E-mail
Raul Cortez, Department Assistant 949-644-3290 rcortez@newportbeachca.gov 
Cara Eng, Permit Technician II 949-644-3289 ceng@newportbeachca.gov 
Stacy Kirk, Permit Technician II 949 644-3287 skirk@newportbeachca.gov
Ben Jen, Permit Technician II 949-644-3274 bjen@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Savanah Reyes, Permit Technician II
949-644-3269 sreyes@newportbeachca.gov
Ron Mejia, Permit Technician 949-644-3251 rmejia@newportbeachca.gov 
Sage GreensteinIntern 949-644-3200 sgreenstein@newportbeachca.gov

    

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone E-mail

Tonee Thai, P.E., Deputy Community Development Director / Chief Building Official

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov
Dan Aquino, P.E., Principal Engineer 949-644-3292  daquino@newportbeachca.gov 
Bejanian, Sevan, P.E., Civil Engineer 949-644-3281  sbejanian@newportbeachca.gov

Oliver Daluz, Plans Examiner, EMP

949-644-3271 odaluz@newportbeachca.gov
Sergio Gutierrez, P.G., C.E.G., Certified Engineer Geologist 949-644-3213 sgutierrez@newportbeachca.gov
Dustin Horney, P.E. Civil Engineer  949-644-3277  dhorney@newportbeachca.gov
Ken Huang, P.E., Civil Engineer 949-644-3285 khuang@newportbeachca.gov
Melissa Kubischta, S.E., Principal Engineer 949-644-3278  mkubischta@newportbeachca.gov
Alex Liu, P.E., Civil Engineer  949-644-3202  aliu@newportbeachca.gov 

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov
Ting Wei Wang, P.E., Civil Engineer 949-644-3207  twang@newportbeachca.gov 
Zhao Zhang, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 949-644-3279  zzhang@newportbeachca.gov

  

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone E-mail
Steve LanePrincipal Building Inspector 949-644-3264 slane@newportbeachca.gov
Knipe, Ken, Contract Building Inspector 949-644-3263  kknipe@newportbeachca.gov 
Rick LaBare, Sr. Building Inspector 949-644-3261 rlabare@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Molina, Building Inspector II  949-644-3379 jmolina@newportbeachca.gov 
David Reed, Building Inspector II 949-644-3252 dreed@newportbeachca.gov 
Chris Sanchez, Principal Building Inspector 949-644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Chad Shelton, Building Inspector II 949-644-3295     cshelton@newportbeachca.gov 
Vacant, Building Inspector 949-644-3267  
Bill TumanBuilding Inspector II 949-644-3272 btuman@newportbeachca.gov 
Jason Rudenick, Sr. Building Inspector  949-644-3262  jrudenick@newportbeachca.gov 
Chuck Wilson, Contract Building Inspector   949-644-3260  cwilson@newportbeachca.gov 

  

Life Safety Services Phone E-mail
James GillespieFire Marshal 949-644-3354 jgillespie@newportbeachca.gov 
Nadine Morris, Life Safety Specialist II 949-644-3105 nmorris@newportbeachca.gov
Michael PasmantLife Safety Specialist II 949-644-3111  mpasmant@newportbeachca.gov 
Jon Reid, Life Safety Specialist II 949-644-3107  jreid@newportbeachca.gov 
Raymi Wun, Life Safety Specialist III 949-644-3110 rwun@newportbeachca.gov
Sheldon Zell, Life Safety Specialist II 949-644-3108 szell@newportbeachca.gov 

 
CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL
John MurrayCode Enforcement Supervisor 949-270-8137 jmurray@newportbeachca.gov

Monique Navarrete, Senior Code Enforcement Officer 

949-644-3257 mnavarrete@newportbeachca.gov
Jonathan Munoz, Code Enforcement Officer II 949-644-3220 jmunoz@newportbeachca.gov
Aydee Inzunza, Code Enforcement Officer I 949-644-3230   ainzunza@newportbeachca.gov 
Steven Estrada, Code Enforcement Officer I 949-644-3286  sestrada@newportbeachca.gov 

 

______
Planning Phone E-mail
Jaime Murillo, Acting Deputy Director, Community Development 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
Vacant, Planning Manager 949-644-3210
Ben Zdeba,  Principal Planner 949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov
Vacant, Senior Planner 949-644-3227 @newportbeachca.gov 
Liz Westmoreland, Senior Planner 949-644-3234 lwestmoreland@newportbeachca.gov
David LeeSenior Planner 949-644-3225 dlee@newportbeachca.gov  
Joselyn Perez, Associate Planner
949-644-3312
jperez@newportbeachca.gov
Oscar Orozco, Assistant Planner
949-644-3219 oorozco@newportbeachca.gov
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner 949-644-3221
mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov
Jenny Tran, Assistant Planner 949-644-3212 jtran@newportbeachca.gov
Danny Kopshever, Assistant Planner 949-644-3235 dkopshever@newportbeachca.gov
Laura RodriguezPlanning Technician 949-644-3216 lrodriguez@newportbeachca.gov
Jerry Arregui, Planning Technician  949-644-3249 jarregui@newportbeachca.gov
Aaron Chu, Planning Intern
949-644-3200 achu@newportbeachca.gov

   

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Whitlinger, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov 
Carrera Mullinax, Management Analyst 949-644-3206 cmullinax@newportbeachca.gov
Amanda Jawhary, Management Assistant  949-644-3398  ajawhary@newportbeachca.gov