Operational Hours / Staff Directory

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.

 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

To Schedule an Inspection:

 

1. Call the Inspection Request Line at (949) 644-3255 or;
2. Click here to schedule an Inspection online

3. For iPermits ONLY, please log onto your online account at www.newportbeachca.gov/onlinepermitting

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal:
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Residential Building
Inspector hours:
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Alternating Fridays
Inspection hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspectors available: 7:30 AM to 8:00 AM and 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Saturday
No Construction Work on Sundays or Federal Holidays

    

ENGINEERS COUNTER SCHEDULE   

           
ENGINEER MON
DEC 9
TUES
DEC 10
WED
DEC 11
THURS
 DEC 12
FRI
DEC 13
        Engineer's
Meeting 4-5 pm
 
Eric Skarin COUNTER AM PC LBU COUNTER AM LBU
Kenneth Huang COUNTER PM PC COUNTER PM PC OFF
Melissa Kubischta LBU COUNTER AM
PC PC OFF
Soon Cho
OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF
Stefan Chiose
OFF LBU COUNTER AM LBU
COUNTER PM
Dan Aquino APC LBU APC APC COUNTER AM
Yoko Tanaka
LBU COUNTER PM LBU COUNTER PM OFF
Sergio Gutierrez (CEG)** 7:30-12
1-3*
7:30-12
1-3*
7:30-12
1-3*
7:30-12
1-3*
7:30-12
1-3*
Ben Ellingson (EMP)* SEMINAR 8-12 & 1-2
8-12 & 1-2 8-12 & 1-2 8-12 &1-2
Fire Prevention 7:30-12
7:30-12
7:30-12
7:30-12
7:30-12

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      PC = back office plan check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      LBU = Counter coverage during lunch & back-up
      AM engineer lunch is 12:30-1:30, & PM engineer lunch is 11:30-12:30
     *EMP (Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner)
   **CEG (Certified Engineer Geologist) Available 1-3 pm by appointment (Mon - Thurs), Friday is by appointment

ENGINEER MON
DEC 2
TUES
DEC 3
WED
DEC 4
THURS
DEC 5
FRI
DEC 6
Eric Skarin LBU LBU PC COUNTER AM OFF
Kenneth Huang PC
LBU COUNTER PM LBU COUNTER PM
Melissa Kubischta LBU PC COUNTER AM LBU COUNTER AM
Soon Cho
COUNTER PM PC LBU PC OFF
Stefan Chiose
COUNTER AM PC PC PC OFF
Dan Aguino  APC COUNTER AM APC APC LBU
Yoko Tanaka PC COUNTER PM LBU COUNTER PM LBU
Ben Ellingson. (EMP)* 8-12 & 1-2 8-12 & 1-2 8-12 & 1-2 8-12 & 1-2 OUT 

Sergio Gutierrez (CEG) **

7:30-12
1-3*

7:30-12
1-3*

7:30-12
1-3
7:30-12
1-3**
OUT
Fire Prevention 7:30-12
7:30-12 7:30-12 7:30-12 APPT ONLY

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      PC = Back office plan check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      LBU = Counter coverage during lunch & back-up
      AM Engineer lunch is 12:30-1:30, & PM engineer lunch is 11:30-12:30
     *EMP = Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner
   **CEG (Certified Engineer Geologist) Available 1-3 pm by appointment (Mon - Thurs), Friday is by appointment

Community Development Staff Phone E-mail
Seimone Jurjis, Community Development Director 949-644-3200 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov
   

      

ADMINISTRATION Phone E-mail
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Clarivel Rodriguez, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3232 crodriguez@newportbeachca.gov
Ketshy Palencia, Administrative Technician 949-644-3201 kpalencia@newportbeachca.gov
Lanny Krage, Records Specialist 949-644-3293 lkrage@newportbeachca.gov
Amanda Lee, Administrative Technician 949-718-1865 alee@newportbeachca.gov
Brittany RamirezAdministrative Analyst 949 644-3239 bramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Administrative Technician 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov
Ayla Guernon, Student Aide 949-644-3200 agueron@newportbeachca.gov
Aryana LeLand, Student Aide  949-644-3200 aleland@newportbeachca.gov
Savannah Martinez, Student Aide 949-644-3200 smartinez@newportbeachca.gov
Gianni Genteel, Student Aide 949-644-3200 ggenteel@newportbeachca.gov
Caitlyn Curley, Student Aide 949-644-3200 ccurley@newportbeachca.gov
Mitchell Phillips, Student Aide  949-644-8136 mphillips@newportbeachca.gov
Jared Sinewitz, Student Aide (Permit Center) 949-644-3200 jsinewitz@newportbeachca.gov

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone E-mail
Susan McCourt, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3289 smccourt@newportbeachca.gov
Vacant, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3290  
Cara Eng, Permit Specialist II 949 644-3251 ceng@newportbeachca.gov
Jamie Harris, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3274 jharris@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Savanah Melo, Permit Specialist I
949-644-3269 smelo@newportbeachca.gov
Jessica Sanchez, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3287 jsanchez@newportbeachca.gov

    

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone E-mail

Samir Ghosn, P.E., Deputy Community Development Director / Chief Building Official

949-644-3277 sghosn@newportbeachca.gov
Dan Aquino, P.E., Civil Engineer 949 644-3292  daquino@newportbeachca.gov 
Stefan Chiose, P.E., Civil Engineer
949-644-3207 schiose@newportbeachca.gov

Soon Cho, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3281 scho@newportbeachca.gov

Ben Ellingson, Plans Examiner, Elect., Mech., Plumbing 

949-644-3271 bellingson@newportbeachca.gov
Sergio Gutierrez, P.G., C.E.G., Certified Engineer Geologist (Contract) 949-644-3213 sgutierrez@newportbeachca.gov
Ken Huang, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 949-644-3285 khuang@newportbeachca.gov

Dan Kennedy, Architect, Principal Engineer / Plan Review

949-644-3279 dkennedy@newportbeachca.gov
Melissa Kubischta, S.E., Civil Engineer  949-644-3278  mkubischta@newportbeachca.gov

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov
Yoko Tanaka, S.E., Civil Engineer 949 644-3202  ytanaka@newportbeachca.gov

Tonee Thai, P.E., Principal Engineer / Customer Service

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov

  

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone E-mail
Vacant, Part-time Building Inspector II 949 644-3263   
Richard Eldridge, Contract Building Inspector 949 644-3260  reldridge@newportbeachca.gov 
Steve LaneSr. Building Inspector 949-644-3264 slane@newportbeachca.gov
Rick La Bare, Building Inspector II 949 644-3261 rlabare@newportbeachca.gov
David Reed, Building Inspector II 949 644-3252 dreed@newportbeachca.gov 
Chris Sanchez, Principal Building Inspector 949 644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Chad Shelton, Building Inspector II 949-644-3295     cshelton@newportbeachca.gov 
Paul Sobek, Building Inspector Supervisor 949 644-3268

psobek@newportbeachca.gov

Marshall Shelton, Sr. Building Inspector 949 644-3267 mshelton@newportbeachca.gov
Bill TumanBuilding Inspector II 949 644-3272 btuman@newportbeachca.gov 

  

Life Safety Services Phone E-mail
Kevin Bass, Fire Marshal 949-644-3108 kbass@newportbeachca.gov 
Susan Guzzetta, Life Safety Specialist III 949-644-3107 sguzzetta@newportbeachca.gov
James GillespieLife Safety Specialist II 949 644- 3354 jgillespie@newportbeachca.gov 
Nadine Morris, Life Safety Specialist II 949 644-3105 nmorris@newportbeachca.gov
Michael PasmantPart-time Life Safety Specialist I 949 644-3111  mpasmant@newportbeachca.gov 
Raymi Wun, Life Safety Specialist II 949 644-3110 rwun@newportbeachca.gov
     

CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL

Brian Contino, Code Enforcement Officer II

949-644-3257 bcontino@newportbeachca.gov
John Murray, Code Enforcement Officer II 949-270-8137 jmurray@newportbeachca.gov
Jonathan Munoz, Code Enforcement Officer I 949-644-3220 jmunoz@newportbeachca.gov
Joshua Hernandez, Code Enforcement Trainee - PT 949-644-3286 jhernandez@newportbeachca.gov

 

Planning Phone E-mail
James Campbell, Deputy Director, Community Development 949-644-3210 jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Murillo, Principal Planner 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
Gregg Ramirez,  Principal Planner 949-644-3219 gramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Makana Nova, Senior Planner 949-644-3249 mnova@newportbeachca.gov
Ben Zdeba, Senior Planner  949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov
Chelsea Crager, Associate Planner 949-644-3227 ccrager@newportbeachca.gov 
Liz Westmoreland, Assistant Planner 949-644-3234 lwestmoreland@newportbeachca.gov
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner 949-644-3221 mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov  
David Lee, Assistant Planner  949-644-3225 dlee@newportbeachca.gov
Joselyn Perez, Planning Technician  949-644-3312 jperez@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Achis, Planning Technician P/T  949-644-3237  pachis@newportbeachca.gov

   

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Whitlinger, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov 
Fauna Schrago, Administrative Analyst P/T 949 644-3206 fschrago@newportbeachca.gov