Harbor Commission

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

QUICK LINKS 
Purpose:  

Newport Harbor supports numerous recreational and commercial activities, waterfront residential communities and scenic and biological resources. The purpose of the Harbor Commission is to provide the City of Newport Beach with an advisory body representing these diverse uses of Newport Harbor and its waterfront.

  1. Advise the City Council in all matters pertaining to the use, control, operation, promotion and regulation of all vessels and watercraft within Newport Harbor. 
  2. Approve, conditionally approve, or disapprove applications on all harbor permits where the City of Newport Beach Municipal Code assigns the authority for the decision to the Harbor Commission.
  3. Serve as an appellate and reviewing body for decisions of the City Manager on harbor permits, leases, and other harbor-related administrative matters where the City of Newport
    Beach Municipal Code assigns such authority to the Harbor Commission.
  4. Advise the City Council on proposed harbor-related improvements.
  5. Advise the Planning Commission and City Council on land use and property development applications referred to the Harbor Commission by the City Council, Planning Commission, or the City Manager. 
  6. Make recommendations to the City Council for the adoption
    of regulations and programs necessary for the ongoing implementation of the goals, objectives, policies of the Harbor and Bay Element of the General Plan, the Harbor Area Management Plan, and the Tidelands Capital Plan.
  7. Advise the City Council on the implementation of assigned parts of the Tidelands Capital Plan such as:
  • Dredging priorities
  • In-bay beach sand replenishment priorities
  • Harbor amenities such as mooring support service areas and public docks

Commission Authorization:
City Charter, Article VII, Section 700
Established by Ordinance No. 2001-25, adopted on January 8, 2002. Amended by Ordinance No. 2013-14

Frequency of Meetings: 
The second Wednesday of each month, unless otherwise noticed. Meetings generally start at 6:30 pm.

  Name  Email  Appointed  Reappointed  Term Expires 
16-10-12 Dave David Girling, Chair
(2018-2019)
dgirling@newportbeachca.gov 03-13-12  06-27-17  06-30-21

Scott - Edit

Scott Cunningham, Vice Chair
(2018-2019)
scunningham@newportbeachca.gov 04-25-17    06-30-21
John - edit John Drayton, Secretary
(2018-2019)
jdrayton@newportbeachca.gov 04-25-17   06-30-19
IraBeer Ira Beer, Commissioner ibeer@newportbeachca.gov 06-27-17 06-28-18 06-30-22
Paul Blank, Commissioner pblank@newportbeachca.gov 06-26-12 06-28-26 06-30-20
Bill Kenney, Jr., Commissioner wkenney@newportbeachca.gov 06-24-14 06-26-18 06-30-22
don yahn2
Don Yahn, Commissioner dyahn@newportbeachca.gov 06-26-18
06-30-22

 Harbor Commissioners 2018-2019

""

 

Length of Term for Members:
The seven members of the commission serve for a term of four years on a staggered basis. 

City Staff
Carol Jacobs

Assistant City Manager

cjacobs@newportbeachca.gov
Kurt Borsting Harbormaster  kborsting@newportbeachca.gov
Jennifer Biddle Admin. Assistant jbiddle@newportbeachca.gov 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer