Operational Hours / Staff Directory

Print
Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.

 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

To Schedule an Inspection:

 

1. Call the Inspection Request Line at (949) 644-3255 or;
2. Click here to schedule an Inspection online

3. For iPermits ONLY, please log onto your online account at www.newportbeachca.gov/onlinepermitting

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal:
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Residential Building
Inspector hours:
7:00 AM to 5:00 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Alternating Fridays
Inspection hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspectors available: 7:30 AM to 8:00 AM and 2:30 PM to 4:30 PM
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Saturday
No Construction Work on Sundays or Federal Holidays

    

ENGINEERS COUNTER SCHEDULE   

               
ENGINEER MON
    MAY 23     
TUES
MAY 24
WED
 MAY 25
THURS
MAY 26
FRI
MAY 27
        ENGINEERS
MEETING 4-5
 
Eric Skarin COUNTER AM AM B/U COUNTER AM AM B/U
IN @ 8:45
COUNTER AM
Melissa Kubischta PC LBU
11:30-12:30
PC PC PC AM B/U 12-1
Stefan Chiose COUNTER PM COUNTER AM
AM B/U PM B/U COUNTER PM
Dan Aquino
OFF OFF COUNTER PM COUNTER AM OFF
Yoko Tanaka PM B/U COUNTER PM PM B/U COUNTER PM OFF
Kenneth Huang PC PC
LBU 12:30-1:30
PC PC OFF
Oliver Daluz 8-12:30 8-12:30 8-12:30  8-12:30 APPT ONLY
Sergio Gutierrez                          7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30
7:30-12:30 7:30-12:30 OFF
Fire Prevention
  (Staff Meetings Mondays
   @ 7:30-8:30 AM)

8:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM

7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
Appt only

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      PC = back office plan check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      LBU = Counter coverage during lunch & back-up
      AM engineer lunch is 12:30-1:30, & PM engineer lunch is 11:30-12:30
     *EMP (Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner)
   **CEG (Certified Engineer Geologist) Available 1-3 pm by appointment (Mon - Thurs), Friday is by appointment

ENGINEER MON
MAY 16
TUES
 MAY 17
WED
MAY 18
THURS
MAY 19
FRI
  MAY 20
           
Eric Skarin AM B/U AM B/U COUNTER AM AM B/U COUNTER AM
Melissa Kubischta  PC PC PC PC OFF
Stefan Chiose PM B/U COUNTER PM PM B/U COUNTER PM OFF
Dan Aquino
COUNTER AM COUNTER AM AM B/U COUNTER AM OFF
Yoko Tanaka COUNTER PM PM B/U COUNTER PM PM B/U COUNTER PM
Kenneth Huang PC PC PC PC PM B/U 12-1
Oliver Daluz (EMP)* 8-12:30 OFF 8-12:30 8-12:30 OFF

Sergio Gutierrez (CEG)*

OFF OFF OFF 7:30-12:30 APPT ONLY
Fire Prevention
  (Staff Meeting Mondays
    @ 7:30 AM-8:30 AM)
8:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
7:30-12
Appt only
after 1 PM
Appt only

      APC = Appointment Plan Check
      PC = Back office plan check
      AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
      LBU = Counter coverage during lunch & back-up
      AM Engineer lunch is 12:30-1:30, & PM engineer lunch is 11:30-12:30
     *EMP = Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner, Friday is appointment only
   **CEG (Certified Engineer Geologist) Friday is by appointment

Community Development Staff Phone E-mail
Seimone Jurjis, Community Development Director 949-644-3200 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov
   

    

ADMINISTRATION Phone E-mail
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Clarivel Rodriguez, Administrative Assistant 949-644-3232 crodriguez@newportbeachca.gov
Ketshy Palencia, Department Assistant 949-644-3201 kpalencia@newportbeachca.gov
VACANT, Records Specialist 949-644-3293
Amanda Lee, Department Assistant 949-718-1865 alee@newportbeachca.gov
Brittany Ramirez, Management Analyst 949-644-3239 bramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Administrative Assistant 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Department Assistant 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov
Andrew Janey, Student Aide 949-644-3200 ajaney@newportbeachca.gov
Breana Ruiz, Student Aide 949-644-3200 bruiz@newportbeachca.gov
Jasmine Leon, Student Aide 949-644-3200 jleon@newportbeachca.gov
Nick Dildine, Student Aide   949-644-3200 ndildine@newportbeachca.gov 

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone E-mail
Susan McCourt, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3289 smccourt@newportbeachca.gov
VACANT, Department Assistant 949-644-3290  
VACANT, Permit Technician II 949 644-3251  
Ben Jen, Permit Technician II 949-644-3274 bjen@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki, Permit Technician II 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Savanah Reyes, Permit Technician II
949-644-3269 sreyes@newportbeachca.gov
Jessica Sanchez, Permit Technician II 949-644-3287 jsanchez@newportbeachca.gov

    

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone E-mail

Tonee Thai P.E., Acting Deputy Community Development Director / Chief Building Official

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov
Dan Aquino, P.E., Civil Engineer 949-644-3292  daquino@newportbeachca.gov 
Stefan Chiose, P.E., Civil Engineer
949-644-3207 schiose@newportbeachca.gov

Oliver Daluz, Plans Examiner, EMP

949-644-3271 odaluz@newportbeachca.gov
Sergio Gutierrez, P.G., C.E.G., Certified Engineer Geologist 949-644-3213 sgutierrez@newportbeachca.gov
Ken Huang, P.E., Acting Principal Engineer 949-644-3285 khuang@newportbeachca.gov

VACANTPrincipal Engineer / Plan Review

949-644-3279  
Melissa Kubischta, S.E., Acting Principal Engineer 949-644-3278  mkubischta@newportbeachca.gov

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov
Yoko Tanaka, S.E., Civil Engineer 949-644-3202  ytanaka@newportbeachca.gov

  

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone E-mail
John Burckle, Contract Building Inspector  949-644-3268  jburckle@newportbeachca.gov 
Walter Jones, Building Inspector II  949-644-3263  wjones@newportbeachca.gov 
Steve LanePrincipal Building Inspector 949-644-3264 slane@newportbeachca.gov
Rick LaBare, Sr. Building Inspector 949-644-3261 rlabare@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Molina, Building Inspector II  949-644-3379 jmolina@newportbeachca.gov 
David Reed, Building Inspector II 949-644-3252 dreed@newportbeachca.gov 
Danny RodriguezContract Building Inspector  949-644-3260  drodriguez@newportbeachca.gov 
Chris Sanchez, Principal Building Inspector 949-644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Chad Shelton, Building Inspector II 949-644-3295     cshelton@newportbeachca.gov 
Marshall Shelton, Sr. Building Inspector 949-644-3267 mshelton@newportbeachca.gov
Bill TumanBuilding Inspector II 949-644-3272 btuman@newportbeachca.gov 
Jason Rudenick, Building Inspector II  949-644-3262  jrudenick@newportbeachca.gov 

  

Life Safety Services Phone E-mail
Kevin Bass, Fire Marshal 949-644-3108 kbass@newportbeachca.gov 
James GillespieLife Safety Specialist III 949-644-3354 jgillespie@newportbeachca.gov 
Nadine Morris, Life Safety Specialist II 949-644-3105 nmorris@newportbeachca.gov
Michael PasmantPart-time Life Safety Specialist I 949-644-3111  mpasmant@newportbeachca.gov 
Jon Reid, Life Safety Specialist II 949-644-3107  jreid@newportbeachca.gov 
Raymi Wun, Life Safety Specialist II 949-644-3110 rwun@newportbeachca.gov

 
CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL
John MurrayCode Enforcement Supervisor 949-270-8137 jmurray@newportbeachca.gov

Monique Navarrete, Senior Code Enforcement Officer 

949-644-3257 mnavarrete@newportbeachca.gov
Jonathan Munoz, Code Enforcement Officer I 949-644-3220 jmunoz@newportbeachca.gov
Searcy Snyder, Code Enforcement Officer I 949-644-3286 ssnyder@newportbeachca.gov
Aydee Inzunza, Code Enforcement Officer 949-644-3230   alnzunza@newportbeachca.gov 

 

Planning Phone E-mail
James Campbell, Deputy Director, Community Development 949-644-3210 jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Murillo, Principal Planner 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
VACANT,  Principal Planner 949-644-3219  
Makana Nova, Senior Planner 949-644-3249 mnova@newportbeachca.gov
Ben Zdeba, Senior Planner 949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov
Chelsea Crager, Associate Planner 949-644-3227 ccrager@newportbeachca.gov 
Liz Westmoreland, Associate Planner 949-644-3234 lwestmoreland@newportbeachca.gov
David LeeAssociate Planner 949-644-3225 dlee@newportbeachca.gov  
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner
949-644-3221 mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov
Joselyn Perez, Assistant Planner 949-644-3312 jperez@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Achis, Assistant Planner 949-644-3237 pachis@newportbeachca.gov
VACANT, Planning Technician  949-644-3212  
Caitlyn Curley, Planning Technician  949-644-3235 ccurley@newportbeachca.gov

   

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Whitlinger, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov 
VACANT, Management Analyst 949-644-3206